Thesis.

I apologize for the lack of content recently. I’m about halfway through the first semester (“Thesis Prep”) of my thesis for my Master of Architecture.

It’s rather time, effort, energy, concentration, imagination, enthusiasm, motivation… etc intensive hence my lack of posting photos. I’m hoping to get out to PEI for a photography adventure for my elective soon, but we’ll see!

Here’s a map I’m working on showing just the building footprints and roads in Surrey, BC. Nothing special, but I’m hoping it begins to inform me about the relationship between the built and natural environment in Surrey. Surrey isn’t very dense at all, it’s basically made up of two things: suburban housing and the agricultural land reserve. “Surrey City Centre” is basically a strip of malls along the highway, a couple residential towers and they sky train… long way to go. I have high hopes for the city though, I feel that it has the potential to be an amazing city but there are a lot of contentious developments exasperating the degradation of the natural landscape that isn’t contributing to the city moving forward. Anyways… quick graphic.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 176 other followers

